How Many Cities Are There In Tanzania? : Tanzania as a country is known to have around 42 prominent cities where tourists can tour around and the unique part of these different cities is that each of them has a longitude, latitude, its own region and other variable interests therefore which makes this country a country to significant numbers of cities and urban centers. In addition, in the easy below; we will have an over view about some of these notable cities and other key information about them.

Dar es Salaam.
Dar es Salaam is located on the Eastern coast of the country, it is considered major and Tanzanian largest city, and it crosses through districts like; Kigamboni, Kinondoni, Ilala, Ubungo, Temeke and many others. More so, Dar es Salaam is known to be serving as a major port city and it plays a crucial role in the country’s trade and commerce. In addition, exploring around this city will bless tourists with chances to visit within an open-air village museum, which is a home to a vibrant mix of cultures, and many tribes therefore tourists will get to learn more about these people’s traditions and watch their exciting traditional dance performances among others. More so, this city is surrounded with beautiful beaches, lively markets, and a history landmark, which hosts a large population of over 6 million people.

How Many Cities Are There In Tanzania
Dar es Salaam Tanzania

Dodoma is famously known as the capital of Tanzania, which is located in the central region of the country, and it situated on a total surface area of about 418 square kilometers and stands at an elevated area of about 1,120 meters. In addition, of the interesting facts that one should know about this city is that it was originally founded as idodomya during 1907 by the German settlers during the time of the construction of the Tanzanian railway. More so, Dodoma is considered and commonly visited for its political significance and its government institutions, which include; the National Assembly and the official residence of the president. And this city has a more relaxed atmosphere compared to the other commercial cities in the country such as; Dar es salaam.

Arusha city is located in the Northern part of Tanzania and it is commonly referred to as the gateway to many national parks found in this country such as. Ngorongoro crater and Serengeti national park among others hence ranking it staring point and a good destination where tourists on an adventurous safari in the country should visit. More so, Arusha city is also known for hosting the East African community, a diplomatic hub and for its many international organizations. In addition, this city has a pleasant climate and tourists touring around this country will capture stunning views of beautiful features such as; Mount Meru and many others.

Mwanza city is ranked as the second largest city in the country, which is located in the Southern shore of Lake Victoria, which is known to be Africa’s largest fresh water body. Mwanza city is famously known to be an important center for trade activities especially within the fishing industry. More so, exploring around this city blesses tourists with opportunities to capture breathe taking views of Lake Victoria and many other natural attractions such as; Rubondo and many others.

Tanga city.
Tanga city is located in the Northeastern part of Tanzania along the Indian Ocean and it serves as a gateway to many beautiful features such as; Islands and beaches hence making it a popular destination for many tourists to visit. More so, this city is well known for its rich history that has colonial-era buildings and an active port, which contributes a lot towards the economic significance.

Mbeya is a city that is located in the Southwestern highlands of the country and it is famously known for its picturesque landscapes, which include the Mbeya Range, and it is being surrounded with tea and coffee plantations. More so, this city is known to be an agricultural and trade center with a growing urban population and for its vibrant market scene among others.

And apart from the above mentioned, there are more other cities in this country that individuals should know about and some of these include; Morogoro, Zanzibar city which is known for its rich history and for its cultural diversity, Iringa city, Kigoma city, Mtwara city, Shinyanga city, indi, Bukoba, Songea, Kahama city, Sumbawanga,Kasulu, Mafinga, Kibaha rural, Makambako, Nansio, Handeni Rural city, Tudama, Njombe, Kilosa, Koani, Chake chake city, Nzega, wete, Masasi, Tukuyu, Njombe, Singida which is a city located in the central part of Tanzania and its known for its agricultural activities due to the fact that people there participate more in cotton and sunflower farming among others.

Contact our trusted tour operators for more information about how many cities are there in the country and then book with tours and travel companies such as; Focus East Africa Tours who offer the best tour packages while on a Tanzania safari.